My Cart


El Agrado | Colombia | Single Origin

- +

Origin Colombia

Location Piendamo, Cauca

Farm El Agrado

Process Natural

Altitude 1740 M.A.S.L

Flavour Profile Mango and orignina with dark chocolate and notes of spiced rum

SCA score 86.75

Varietal Castillo

Robinson Rivera, an experienced coffee producer for the past 18 years and member of the ACC group for 5 years, is the source of this lot from El Silencio farm. This particular lot is grown in a six-hectare coffee area and produced solely from Castillo beans. The natural processing method involves tank fermentation for 48 hours, followed by silo drying at 28 degrees Celsius. The drying process is paused at 16 hours and the temperature is increased to 37 degrees Celsius until 20% humidity is reached.

Afterward, the coffee undergoes further fermentation in sealed plastic drums for 24 hours before parabolic drying is used to achieve 10% humidity. The ACC coop (Asociación de Caficultores del Centro del Cauca por la Paz) is a non-profit organisation established in 2016 in Piendamó, Cauca. The purpose of the association is to improve coffee quality, from crop to commercialization, with an aim to make a social impact on the region. The association is made up of 77 associates who own an average of 1.5 hectares of land and grow a variety of coffee types such as Castillo, Cenicafé, Tabi, Bourbon, Caturra, and Colombia beans. Every member has the freedom to decide on their coffee processing method, with innovative fermentations as an option. The association provides commercial strategies and crop-related technology assistance to its members.

The drying process is mostly done through parabolic and mechanical silos. The association has a rented storage facility in Piendamó, which houses a coffee laboratory with all the equipment required for coffee selection and cupping by a Q-Grader. In the previous year, 900,000 kg of parchment coffee was purchased, with 20,000 kg scoring 86 points or higher. The coffee comes from associates and commercial partners from Morales, Cajibío, Totoró, and Caldono municipalities.